‘Timeless style with a modern edge’ Debenhams A/W 2011 Press show

debenhams press show 2011

There’s nothing I love more than a sneak preview of a new collection. I’ve been working on long-lead magazines for so long that my mind set is always six months ahead; if it’s hot and sunny i’m itching to see the new Autumn Winter collections and in the depths of Winter I can’t wait to preview the new Summer collections. A couple of weeks ago I went along to Bloomsbury for the A/W 2011 preview of the new Debenhams collection and took a few snaps for you of my favourite new products.

debenhams press show

Pretty earthy coloured crockery and smoky glassware – I think this is the Rocha John Rocha collection, or it could be Betty Jackson, I forgot to take a note, but I love the muted lime shade against the soft stone colour.

debenhams press show

Quirky cushions from the Ben De Lisi collection. This range was the standout of the show for me; building on the success of the ‘Ella’ bulldog cushions and primary bright accessories of last season there were plenty of eye catching printed cushions and quirky pieces.

debenhams press show 2011

Prettiness, as to be expected from Jane Packer – I love real flowers but if I have to use artificial flowers then Jane Packer are up there with the best of them in terms of realistic design and pretty arrangements.

debenhmas press show 2011

Plenty of jewel coloured goodness from Matthew Wiliamson – his collections always transport me to hotter climes. If I had a whitewashed Ibizan villa I would fill it with gorgeous hot-hued accessories like these. I’ve also got my eye on that brass Moroccan style lantern.

debenhams press show 2011

All in all it was an interesting show with lots of predictably good products mixed in with some really unusual and unique pieces, notably from Ben de Lisi. I’ll post up the official new season photography soon but I wanted to share these snaps from the show first just to give you a flavour. The styling of the show was interesting too – the vast space was carved up with white frames within which each collection was showcased. The dramatic lighting also cast interesting shadows on the whitewashed walls which were emblazoned with slogans from different designers (as above.)

Image credits: Victoria Harrison

2 thoughts on “‘Timeless style with a modern edge’ Debenhams A/W 2011 Press show

    • Oh is it Betty Jackson? Thanks for that! I didn’t make a note so couldn’t remember. I thought the Ben de Lisi collection was brilliant – so original

Leave a Reply

